Matthew celebrates Colindale Primary’s International School Award

Matthew joined representatives of Colindale Primary school at a reception in Parliament to celebrate the school being awarded the British Council International School Award.

The International School Awards were set up in 1999 to recognise schools leading the way in developing a global teaching environment and to celebrate exceptional work in international education. The British Council, the organisers of the awards, are the UK’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities, to the award. 

Matthew said: “This is a real achievement for a fantastic school. I’m delighted by how Colindale Primary School have created more cultural understanding and awareness by partnering with overseas schools throughout the year. I am pleased that its hard work is now recognised with the prestigious International School Award from the British Council.”

The projects and events organised by Colindale Primary School include their Spanish Day and organising South Korean pen pals as a part of their Widening Horizons programme.

Maria Martinez, Colindale Primary School’s International Coordinator said: “At Colindale Primary School we have been working really hard to achieve the International School Award accreditation. Our pupils have enjoyed participating in numerous international projects that we have embedded in the curriculum.

“We are delighted to have received this award by the British Council and will continue to promote international projects and activities at Colindale Primary School to continue enriching our curriculum.”

Sir Ciarán Devane, Chief Executive at the British Council, said: “Colindale Primary School has brought the world into its classrooms, earning them the British Council International School Award. Their pupils’ education is enriched with international activities that help children develop the skills they need to thrive in a globalised world.”

Also in attendance was the Secretary of State for Education, Damian Hinds MP, who celebrated the achievements of schools across the country.