Matthew sworn in as Member of Parliament

Matthew has taken the oath of allegiance to the Crown for the fourth time after his re-election as the Member of Parliament for Hendon. 

Swearing in is the process of making an oath - or a solemn affirmation - of allegiance to the Crown. Members of the House of Commons are required to swear in before they can take their seats in Parliament. 

MPs take the oath by holding the sacred text in their uplifted hand and saying the words of the oath:

I (name of Member) swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, her heirs and successors, according to law. So help me God.